RSS

Just Deal–With your Emotions!

02 Dec

In this crazy time right before Christmas, it’s so easy to let stress and busyness distract from the wonder of it all. I love taking a few moments to look at this time of year through my children’s eyes. They love the lights and the Christmas trees and the presents and the Christmas parties. They’ve shown me some of their presents for each other (in secret, of course). These aren’t expensive gifts, but they are gifts of love. This reminds me that Christmas isn’t about stuff or even ‘getting everything done’. It’s about the Great Gift that was first given to us over 2000 years ago. It’s about showing that same love to one another, not just at this time of year, but every day the whole year through.

What does this have to do with dealing with your emotions? Well, I admit it, I get stressed and frustrated and impatient sometimes. The problem is when I leave it there. Instead of dealing with my emotions, I shove them off to the side and try to act in a way that’s good in spite of how I feel. Unfortunately, those feelings still come out in odd ways. Instead of stuffing my emotions, I need to be fearless and face them–in Jesus’ name. Are they legitimate feelings? If so, what do I need to do? If they have no business being there, I can simply toss them out in Jesus’ name. Ahhh! Instant peace.

No matter how hard I try, I simply cannot live my days on my own and expect them to be filled with peace. I NEED help. I NEED to walk with Jesus, throughout the day. He will help me to deal with my emotions. He will help me to form new habits that are healthy and that bless others and glorify Him. Sounds great to me! It only takes a moment to acknowledge Him in all I do and it certainly makes life so much better. So, I think I’ll just deal–with my emotions–and have a merry Christmas and a wonderful life–in Him.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
