RSS

Why Self-Publish with Smashwords(e-book) and CreateSpace(print)?

13 Dec

To be honest, I didn’t want to wait. It takes months for publishers to just look at a book much less decide whether or not they want to publish it. Also, publishers don’t like risk and therefore aren’t that excited about new authors. They prefer proven sales. (Makes sense to me.) Lastly, I thought people really needed to hear how to Defeat Fear Forever sooner, rather than later. For me this is more about ministry than money. I want to bless people more than I want to profit.

Why choose Smashwords? I was really impressed by Mark Coker, founder of Smashwords. He made publishing easy and accessible to everyone. He created a resource that makes e-books available to just about everyone on the planet (for just about any reading device), and he’s constantly working to make Smashwords even better.  He is also quick to respond to questions and problems. He believes in Indie authors and he helped me to believe in myself. One of the best things about Smashwords is it’s free to publish with them. That sounds win/win to me. In exchange for an incredibly small amount from each sale, I get to be listed with Smashwords and extended distribution outlets world-wide and I get my own author page. How cool is that?

Finally, why CreateSpace? I did a lot of research and found them to be one of the most high quality, inexpensive sources for print-on-demand books available. Their free services (cover creator, etc.) made my book look professional. I’m proud to sell the book on Amazon as well as give it out as gifts or donations. CreateSpace also provided me with my own e-store. Their services are excellent and their delivery time was prompt. I can’t complain. Now, my book is available on Amazon.com as well as other booksellers across the globe. (I got an author page on Amazon too.)

For a newbie, I think these two sources are a wonderful place to start. There is something indescribable about seeing your own name on a book. I’d love to see others experience their dreams come true as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
