RSS

Did you know it’s a sin to be down on yourself?

19 Jan

I’ve been thinking about that one for the last couple of days. I used to think of being down on myself as a kind of virtue–the opposite of pride. But that’s a lie. Being down on myself is actually the other side of the same coin of pride. Romans 12:3 says, “For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think more highly of himself than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to man the measure of faith,” (KJV). The opposite of arrogance is not thinking of oneself more lowly, it taking the focus off oneself completely and putting it on Jesus.

When I put my focus on Jesus, I do not think of myself too highly or too lowly. Instead I see myself the way Jesus sees me, as a person that He thought was precious enough to die for. If I keep my focus on Him, I can see others the way He sees them as well, also precious enough to die for.

Jesus doesn’t put us down. He raises us up. In fact, He wants us to sit on His throne with Him!

I heard a radio program once where a woman was talking about God’s relationship with us. She talked about the vertical relationship we have with Him. He is so high above us. Yet, as I was listening to her, I realized she left out a vital relationship Jesus also wants to have with us. Yes, we need to worship Him, realizing He IS so much greater than we are. However, Jesus also wants to have a horizontal relationship with us, one-on -one, eye-to-eye. He wants to raise us up to be with Him. He loves and values us that much.

Yet, my Jesus doesn’t stop there. He raises us above Him. He served us while on earth, stooping down to wash the disciples’ feet.

He still loves to bless and even serve us now. When He rose from the dead he didn’t have to keep that fleshly body. He could have been anything. Yet He chose to remain a man and rule and reign as a man. He kept the scars in his hands and feet and side! That is a true servant’s heart. That is my Jesus!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
