RSS

Funnix Reading (Curriculum Review)

12 Feb

Funnix Reading

This program is amazing. I received a free copy and have been using it for my two youngest children. My little girl is in level 1 and my little boy is in level 2. I am so happy with it. The kids both love it. (My little girl is doing two lessons a day!) Most importantly, however, is that they are both learning. The program works!

The authors are the same as for the book, Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons. The differences between this and the book are:

–Funnix is a computer program. There are workbooks and readers used, but the primary lessons are on the DVD’s. The directions are easy to follow and the graphics are great, not too busy, but fun and interesting.

–Parent involvement is fairly minimal. The computerized ‘teacher’ guides the child in the lessons, helping them to answer questions. The voice is very pleasant and encouraging. However, the parent or teacher does need to monitor the child to be sure he is actually answering the questions, understanding the lessons, and doing the work (not just pushing the ‘continue’ button!).

–Level 1 has a workbook (necessary, but purchased separately), and level 2 a reader (also necessary and purchased separately). Both are very well designed and help with reading practice and writing practice. The pictures are nice to color too!

–The book, Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons, gets your child up to a second grade reading level. Funnix Reading gets your child up to a third grade reading level. There are more lessons in Funnix, 120 in Level 1 and 100 lessons in Level 2.

–The price is slightly higher than the book, but for what you get, it’s worth it! I took a look at their site to see how much their products cost and was amazed at how low it all was. The DVD’s are $25. Level 1 workbook is $7.50 and Level 2 reader is $10. Total cost is $42.50. Frankly, I think it’s a steal.

All in all, this program is what I’ve been looking for. The pressure is off me to make sure I get everything ‘right’, I know my kids are learning to read, it’s painless (for all of us), and even fun. I highly recommend this resource.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
