RSS

The Writing Life

15 Jun

It occurred to me last night that I’m almost done with my third book, Allow Joy Into Your Life. I guess I better get started on designing a cover for it. According to the Self-Publishing Checklist put out by Shelly Hitz, I’m actually about on track. You can check out her site at http://www.self-publishing-coach.com. She has a nice mind map that you can download and print out all on one page as well as a longer checklist that you can also print out, both for free. (That makes me happy! ๐Ÿ˜€ )

For my cover, I’ve been very happy with the free cover-creator available through CreateSpace. You can use your own pictures or choose one of theirs. The covers for my books, Defeat Fear Forever and Annie’s Adventures are both through CreateSpace, as well as two of my favorite authors, Nancy Watrud’s What Kids Pray and Sonya Noble’s We Stand Together. Another option is designing my own cover completely through Gimp. Here is a well written (with pictures) how-to article about it through Self-Published Author’s Lounge.

This is a really exciting place to be. I have to write the final chapter and a short conclusion to tie it all together. Then, I just have to revise and edit. I’ve done most of the formatting as I go, so that shouldn’t change much. My ISBN’s I’ll get through Smashwords and CreateSpace. Then, it’ll be time to publish!

So far, the response has been very good. The Lord has shown me so much through this one. It’s my choice whether or not I allow joy into my life. I can have (and keep!) the joy of the Lord all the time, but I have to stay in His Spirit. I have to make a point to do that, every day, every moment of every day. There’s been some ups and downs, but God is so faithful. I love walking with Him. He is so patient with me. I can’t wait to have Allowing Joy Into Your Life up and available to the world!

Let me know about your writing, cover creating, and publishing experiences. I’d love to hear about it! ๐Ÿ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Author in the Trenches

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
