RSS

Conquering Fear

07 Jan

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. I John 4:18 (KJV).

So many precious people suffer from fear every day of their lives. I, too, suffered for years without really even knowing it. I thought I was fine. I had the American dream, wonderful husband, great kids, etc. Yet, there were stupid, little things that kept holding me back from what I wanted to accomplish in my life.

I am one of the piano players at our church. We have a wonderful church that I am so blessed to be a part of. However, I wanted to improve my skills. My husband is a professional musician, a violinist. He doesn’t play the piano, but he is an amazing coach. With me, unfortunately, I did not take his criticism well. He believed in me, but I didn’t believe in myself. Every time he tried to help me, I either argued with him or clammed up. I immediately felt like a failure. That wasn’t what my husband wanted for me and it’s not what God wanted for me either.

One day, it hit us both, two things really. One was that I was really a negative person. I didn’t believe I could actually do it. I didn’t believe I could change. The second thing was, because of my personal belief, I didn’t really want to even try to change. I didn’t have the ‘want to’. I realized that I had actually allowed myself to be bound by fear and my subsequent actions (and reactions) were based on that basic belief. Well, God’s Word has a little something to say about that.

Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do ALL things through Christ which strengtheneth me,” (KJV).

I think one of Satan’s biggest tools against us is to get us to believe that we can’t do something and we simply don’t have a choice in the matter. That’s just ‘the way things are’. Well, I decided to believe all of God’s Word and take it for myself. I started believing I really could change, I really could improve. I could be a positive person and I could even get better on the piano. Know what? My playing changed overnight! My husband commented on my touch on the keyboard and how I was better able to communicate with my music. It was amazing. I could hear it too. Playing was actually easier. The interesting thing is, when I started believing in what God could do in my life, my whole life changed. Not only was the piano affected, but my whole world changed.

So, I started being a positive person and I believed I could change. Fear couldn’t hold onto me anymore. What a difference. However, that was only the beginning.

How has fear messed with your life? What have you done to conquer it? Be sure to tell me about it in the comments below.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2012 in encouraging posts

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
