RSS

God Loves YOU!

03 Feb

Recently, I was challenged by my pastor to let God love me for five minutes every day. I’ve been doing it and it has been amazing. I have been so humbled. I’ve been able to allow the Lord to deal with old ‘baggage’ that needed to be thrown out. As my tears flow, I feel the Lord washing my spirit. It’s wonderful.

There are so many, many verses in the Bible that talk about God’s love for us. John 3:16 “For God so loved…” God loved you and me so much that He gave His life for us. He has called us and chosen us. He bought us with His own blood.

Jeremiah 31:3 “The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.” It is so easy to build walls in our lives because of fear of rejection. If you go after God, He will meet you. If you reach for Him, He reaches for you. He wants you. He has drawn you to Himself. You aren’t rejected. In fact, it’s quite the opposite.

Remember the story of the Prodigal Son? It’s found in Luke 15:11-24. I want to focus especially on Luke 15:20 “And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him.” The father RAN to his son. He tackled him to the ground ‘fell on his neck’ and kissed him! That father loved his son so much, he RAN to meet him. That’s just how much God loves YOU. You are so precious to God that if you just start toward Him, He will RUN to meet you. He will pour out His love onto you. He will overwhelm you with His love.

Although there are many verses in the Bible that talk about God’s love for you, I want to focus in on just one more bit of Scripture: Rom 8:35, 38-39 “Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?…For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” The only thing that can separate you from the love of God is your own thoughts. If you refuse to accept God’s love, you can’t receive it. (That’s true of any relationship.)

So, here’s your challenge: Spend five minutes every day allowing God to just love on you. I guarantee you, you will never be the same. In the comments below, tell me about how you allowed God to love you and how you were changed.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2012 in encouraging posts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “God Loves YOU!

  1. nwatrud

    February 5, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    I’ve been thinking about your post ever since I first read it. I have tried to pinpoint just exactly how I spend time letting God love me. I know exactly what you mean and have basked in Gods’ love on many occasions, but; how I get in that lovely presence to bask in it is what I’ve been contemplating. I know that there have been times I have been worshiping God and as I set my mind on God, He has joined me with His sweet, Holy Presence. There were other times when I was so broken with the knowledge that only by the grace of God was there any hope for me not to be lost, and the Spirit of God suddenly filled the room and I was comforted in His presence. But how do I “let God love me” every day? You know Sister, I think the common denominator here is…time….time with God that isn’t a cursory “gottaquickprayit’stimetogetintheshowerandgetreadyforwork” prayer or an end of the evening, half awake, falling asleep prayer, but; prayer that takes time to cover our petitions and our worship and intercessions and thanks and finally just time to bask in Gods’ presence and “let God love us”.
    Thank you, Sister Li for giving me this thought to chew on.

     
    • ChristinaLi

      February 5, 2012 at 8:29 pm

      Hey Sis! I think you’ve nailed it. In some ways just taking the time to allow myself to feel God’s love is really hard. I mean, I’ve got so much else going on. I need to talk to the Lord about the children, my husband, our church, various issues, getting things done. You know? It’s hard for me to just sit and listen to the Lord tell me He loves me. I feel so unworthy. He has so many better things for me to do than that simple thing. When I talked to HIm about that, He reminded me that He IS love. He wants to take the time to just love me. That’s very precious to Him and very necessary for me in my walk and for my own spiritual growth. If I want to be more like Him, I need to let Him love me and allow Him to teach me to become love like He is. It’s so good to chew on stuff like this. I’m grateful to my pastor for giving me this challenge. It is so good.

       

Leave a Reply

 
